Love today what you would like to bring with you tomorrow.

hoodie

How come I meet so many people who are literally sick of being afraid to make the wrong choice in an age of the so called overwhelming abundance of choices, choices which seem to hold some sort of key to personal success and the thrive of passion and excellence? While at the same time they feel like they don’t matter, because this place is going to ruins anyhow (climate, economy, politics, …)?

Why is it that this notion of becoming better, this notion of creating a better world is actually making us feel worse and is keeping us from appreciating what is already there?

Isn’t what is ok today worth taking with you so tomorrow you will still have something to build on?

To tell you the truth, I’ve had it with “Be the change you want to see in the world.”

From now on I’ll stick to “Love today what you would like to bring with you tomorrow.”

7 thoughts on “Love today what you would like to bring with you tomorrow.

  1. […] Love today what you would like to bring with you tomorrow. I wrote it down for the first time in this post. […]

  2. I forgot to say in my first comment that taking what we love today into tomorrow means we do not have to throw the baby out with the bath water to get to where we all want to go. Thank you for making it possible for me to say the same thing twice in the same sentence in completely different ways.

    • Wendell, these are kind words.

      I’ve just happened to read this quote
      “Ultimately, though, the art of conversation is to treat it as an adventure where two or more minds meet with the prospect of creating something new, whether it happens online or eye to eye. Honour the credo of the historian and philosopher Theodore Zeldin: “A satisfying conversation is one in which you say what you have never said before.” Bon appétit.” (Roman Krznaric)

      Think this has been a great conversation. Please keep it going at anytime.

  3. My friend Meri Walker led me to this brilliant insight you have penned. We have been asked to be at war with virtually everything that is and appreciating any of it often is not allowed. As an economist I see a ton of stuff that is worth taking with me into tomorrow and I am always amazed at people who say everything must change so that as soon as I say things like “you know there are some good aspects to markets” I am dismissed. I still love what I see as really good and useful and I expect to meet all of you and them on the other side with these things still serving us as they always could and in fact did even though obscured by what did not serve us.

    The world could work anytime we want it to for the benefit of all with no one left out including the environment and that has been possible for a long time. When we do that I suspect a lot of it won’t look different than it does now and nothing will be the same.

  4. Love you guys. Deeply. Thank you for your kindness and your appreciation.
    Always happy to have you with me and meet you, today as well as tomorrow.

    Dad: thanks for being here.

  5. Ludo says:

    I would say: Love today what you would like to bring with you tomorrow’, that is exactly being the change we want to see in the world”

    Beautifull and deep,

    Dad

  6. Meri Walker says:

    I’m crazy about your insight, Hannes! It’s actually impossible, isn’t it, to “be the change we want to see in the world.” This thought requires us to imagine something we can’t imagine … which is the change process. At least, in my experience, try as I may for now 61 years, I can’t project how change is going to happen. My mind can fantasize all day about things… but life way too big for me to control.

    I can, though, love what I want to bring with me into tomorrow. I can do that. I can love what I love. Then maybe I’ll discover – in the mystery of tomorrow – that what I love is still with me. It seems to me I stand a better chance of being able to actually DO this. I don’t know… but I’m willing to try.

    What a wonderful post! I always appreciate the freshness and courage you bring to this blog.

Leave a Reply

