Now is all you’ve got

Sometimes, it’s simple …

1) Whoever comes is the right people

2) Whatever happens is the only thing that could have

3) Whenever it starts is the right time

4) When it’s over it’s over.

The Law is the so called Law of Two Feet, which states simply, if at any time you find yourself in any situation where you are neither learning nor contributing – use you two feet and move to some place more to you liking.

(source: Purple Pointr)

… but it sure isn’t easy.

I ponder a lot about what happened in the past: what happened yesterday, last year, a decade ago, …? And I often worry about the future as well (what will happen next? where will I be in a year or so? …).

It’s not a bad thing to do, is it? We learn from our mistakes and making plans for the future keeps us focused, right?

I’m not so sure about that.

You see, whatever memory you have and whatever plan you’re thinking about: all you have is now. So to make the best of your mistakes and to realize most of your plans the first you have to do is:

make the most of now. Makes sense, since now is all you’ve got.

And so I take my best shot at doing exactly that.

Every single day, that’s what all of us do: we get up and try to make most of what we have.

Now.

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Now is all you’ve got

  1. Ben Young says:

    Now is all you’ve got.

    I agree – we need to take the lessons from the past but live now for the future.

    Great post.

  2. Hi Bernd,

    Funny comment. Byron Katie has some buddhist references. I’m reading some stuff about that now and it connects with what I do, what I think and what I like and – with what I write. Glad you’ve written down this quote here.

    Have you ever come accross a situation where your past was impeding your future?

  3. @Tom, following your tweet-question about taking that leap of faith:

    The way I deal with it is try to get up in the morning with the idea I get a chance or an opportunity to make most of what I learned the day(s) before and take meaningful and enjoyable steps to make future plans / ideas happen.

    Every day is also a chance to screw up and pay too much attention to your mistakes or to get all caught up in planning for your future so nothing happens at all. That’s true, but only as far as you’re acting it out.

    Statistics are what they are, just like chance, they are descriptions of probability (notice the uncertainties: ‘descriptions’ / ‘probability’).

    I believe that by acknowledging these facts about possible failure, the uncertainties, the fear for failure, the longing for the familiar (these are after all also realities that shape us) and by approaching the day as an opportunity for success I feel better equipped to actually make most of my day. I’m far more responsive to opportunities, I’m a much better listener and I’m much happier at the end of the day.

    Do I succeed in this all the time? No, of course not. But it helps me from time to time.

    In the end in figuring out what’s the best thing to do it all comes down to what you want and what you do. You’re the expert in being you, in experiencing what your ‘now’ is all about. What do you think?

  4. CoCreatr says:

    Thanks for the backlink, Hannes. The potential for discovery is infinite.

    Is the past impeding the future? Change the present!

    Later, found Byron Katie musing: “I discovered that when I believed my thoughts, I suffered, but that when I didn’t believe them, I didn’t suffer, and that this is true for every human being.”

  5. Hi Tom,

    thanks for the comment. I would love to hear more about that leap of faith and how you deal with it.

  6. Well… funny thing is, though I’m also convinced it’s better to look to the future than to wonder about the past too much. It’s hard to do it, because you always want to reach for something familiar instead of something unknown… and everything in the future is unknown, so would mean taking a leap of faith every morning you get up.

    And there’s probably also something like wanting to learn too much from your mistakes. They are what are, nothing more, nothing less. Wanting to see more in them than they actually are can be as time consuming as starting all over from scratch…

    great post
    Tom

Leave a Reply

