I am smarter than the internet

google-answers1

Ok, that’s maybe a little too bold. But I’ve noticed that often when I have to start working on something I immediately turn to Google and other online tools for answers.

In doing so I even forget to take the time to ask myself about what I know. No wonder one (esp. this one here) gets the impression he’s so incredibly unsmart.

Is the internet making you more stupid then?

Yes it is.

That is, if you think you need to compare yourself to the rest of the (online) world chances are that there will always be someone who knows more about something than you do. And collective knowledge is even harder to compete with.

Competing and compairing, two things in life which can make you extremely unhappy.

Sure, compairing yourself with and competing with someone who you can outperform may give you a great feeling. But hey, you’re living in a global world crammed with niches filled with experts which are more and more harder to outperform.

Since the internet, it’s like you’re having to play the World Championchips Championships of Life on a daily basis, isn’t it?

If you commit yourself to a worldview like that, chances of ever reaching the ultimate victory and happiness are close to zero. And even if you’d win the jackpot, it wouldn’t be long before someone else would beat you to it.

I find myself believing this more often than I like. And it doesn’t make me happy.

Being in such a crowded and interesting world becomes a threat. And what should make me curious makes me suspicious.

So how to get out of it?

Here are a few options:

  • If you can’t win the game, change the rules.
  • Play in a different league.
  • Play a different game.
  • Stop playing games.
  • (just added this one🙂 Stop compairing and competing and start playing for fun.

I’m not really sure what I’m going to do. Depends on the situation I guess.

I’m going to try one thing today, though. I’ll appreciate what I have, what I know, what I feel, what I eat, what I see, what I taste, what I smell, what I love, what I hate. (Say thank you)

And wonder about that. (Sounds a little like mindfulness and meditation mixed together, doesn’t it?)

I’m pretty sure I’ll find some questions an answers no google nor any other person can provide.

Going back to my initial question: before I’ll turn to google, I’ll ask myself:

  • what do I know myself?
  • what do I believe matters?
  • what can I imagine about this subject?
  • what would I really, really like to know?
  • who or what could tell me more about this?

And then I might turn to google. If there’s time left.

Enjoy your Sunday.

(thx for the compliments and pointing out the spelling error @lamazone :-))

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “I am smarter than the internet

  1. oyun says:

    This blog’s great!! Thanks

Leave a Reply

